You are here

Glossary

AES

Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) is the currently defined standard for encryption of digital data. Since 2005, sensitive and confidential data is encrypted via a special algorithm which so far has not been able to be attacked. This method fulfills the highest level of confidentiality, so that even governmental documents can be secured with this method.

API

Application Programming Interface (API) is an interface that allows other programs to be integrated into an existing system. As an application programming interface, it is applied for example by Microsoft Windows so that external companies can develop and implement software for the operating system.

Big Data

The term big data refers to large amounts of data that cannot be evaluated through traditional data processing methods due to their size and complexity or their rapid changes. Instead, they are saved, processed and evaluated with special solutions with the aim of linking together very diverse data and to gain new insights. 

Bitcoin

Bitcoin is a digital currency that is based on an independent and decentralized payment system. By means of the Bitcoin Core software, participants can conduct transactions with bitcoins in a P2P network. Because bitcoin is a purely online currency, goods can be traded and services can be paid across borders. There is no central financial institution that generates bitcoins and is involved in payment transactions. Transactions with bitcoins are only administered by means of a database called blockchain. The value of bitcoins is thus determined by supply and demand.

Blockchain

Blockchain is a decentralized database that administers transactions with the digital currency bitcoin. Here, single or multiple transactions are bundled into data blocks and validated by means of checksums. The joint data blocks form the block chain. Over the Bitcoin Core software all members of the community can download and regularly update the database.

CFT / CTF

Combating the Financing of Terrorism (CFT) or Counter-Terrorist Financing (CTF) refers to guidelines and laws that have been implemented in order to prevent and uncover the illegal purchasing of assets. The focus is on crimes of global terrorism and money laundering. It involves Anti Money Laundering (AML): a set of processes, laws and regulations to fight money laundering.

Cloud Computing

In Cloud Computing, IT infrastructures, platforms and software are offered as a service over a network (e.g. over the Internet). Here, the actual system is saved in a distant data center, but can be used from the local workplace computers. One aspect of this technology is Software as a Service (SaaS), in which customers use software offered by the data center for their own purposes. Fintechs use this in the area of electronic payment transactions; as new security standards are continuously being defined, purchasing specific software does not pay off. Disaster Recovery as a Service (DRaaS) is also possible over Cloud Computing.

Collaborative Finance

Collaborative Finance arose from the principle of Collaborative Consumption and the Sharing Economy. The growing networks and development of communication through the Internet makes it possible for private persons as well as organizations and institutions to share, swap, rent and trade products and services. Through sharing information, tailored, personal financial solutions can be formed. It is common for Collaborative Finance to exhibit a high level of personalized credit transactions (e.g. micro loans) and P2P transactions.

Crowdfunding

Crowdfunding is a new type of funding in which many smaller monetary amounts are collected from Internet users over social networks, platforms, blogs, etc. in order to finance projects. To do so, the capital needed for the project is defined and uploaded for crowdfunding. Capital is then collected over a certain period in order to subsequently implement the project if the targeted amount has been reached.

Digital Native

A digital native is a person who has grown up in the digital world. As opposed to the digital immigrant, the digital native already knew the digital world as a child.

Disaster Recovery Site

A Disaster Recovery Site (DR Site) is used by companies and organizations that are dependent on their digital data and IT infrastructure to a large degree. If the internal system breaks down or becomes temporarily unusable, the DR Site can then be used as an alternative backup. It means that the business operations can be continued and no severe losses are incurred. Because it is relatively expensive to set up and maintain this kind of system, the service already exists: Disaster Recovery as a Service (DRaaS).

eIDV

Electronic Identity Verification (eIDV) is another term for an identity check. By means of an Internet-based system, the identity of business partners, for example, can be verified with little effort.

EMV

EMV stands for the three companies Europay International, MasterCard and VISA. These companies developed the standard that credit and debit cards use for settling transactions with a microchip rather than the former magnetic stripe. The advantages of this change include improved security due to data encryption and the possibility to use further features. The EMV standard allows payment cards to be used across borders.

IPv6 / IPng

Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6), also known as Internet Protocol next generation (IPng) is one of the processes for transmitting data, especially over the Internet, that has been standardized since 1998 by the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF).

Cryptocurrency

Cryptocurrencies refer to digital means of payment that can be traded and paid globally over the Internet. Through these forms of digital currency, methods of cryptography are used in order to encrypt the data behind the currency and thus to ensure its security and reliability. One example of this kind of currency is bitcoin.

MasterCard

An American, multinational financial services corporation with its headquarters in the MasterCard International Global Headquarters in Purchase, New York, Westchester County, United States.

NFC

NFC stands for Near Field Communication. This technology facilitates the exchange of data over a short distance between a NFC chip and a corresponding reader. It is especially used for micropayment and mobile payment by means of credit cards and smartphones.

Open source software

Open Source Software (OSS) describes a freely available software. It can be used by several users at the same time and is not linked to an end device.

Payment gateway

Payment Gateway facilitates the online payment of goods and services with a credit card. In doing so, it presents an interface between the PoS system of a vendor, the purchaser and their bank.

Robo-advisor

Robo-advisors are fintech companies that offer online asset management services. Through the high level of automation and standardization in terms of advisory services, they are generally less expensive than human financial advisors. However, they are restricted in the customization of their advisory services as they skip the associated advice and interaction with customers that a personal advisor can provide. Through the sole use of software programs and entered customer data, a specific investment strategy is developed and presented to the customer.

Screen scraping

Screen Scraping refers to a process of extracting and evaluating data from texts on a computer monitor so that it can be displayed on another end device. Some fintech companies that offer banking apps use this process in order to show account data from app users on various end devices.

Social trading

The exchange of knowledge, opinions and experiences about securities, individual investment decisions and the associated purchasing or sales strategies on specialized platforms and social networks is referred to as social trading. Community members are able to make more tailored decisions and reach assessments or even to copy complete strategies for ones own investments.

Tokenization

Tokenization is used in data protection. Here, confidential data elements are replaced by a token and can thus be transferred securely. The token does not have any external or significant meaning or value. However, it is possible to convert the token back to the original data by means of the tokenization system.

Visa

Visa U.S.A. is one of the leading payment service providers worldwide and is backed by a secure payment network. Visa connects more than 13,300 financial institutions, 6.9 million accepted transaction points and 520 million cards.

Sie sind hier

Glossar

AES

Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) ist der derzeitig festgelegte Standard zur Verschlüsselung digitaler Daten. Seit 2005 werden empfindliche und vertrauliche Daten über den speziellen Algorithmus, der bisher nicht erfolgreich angegriffen werden konnte, verschlüsselt. Diese Methode erfüllt die höchste Geheimhaltungsstufe, sodass sogar staatliche Dokumente auf diese Weise gesichert werden.

API

Application Programming Interface (API) bezeichnet eine Schnittstelle, die es ermöglicht, dass andere Programme in ein bestehendes System integriert werden können. Übersetzt als Anwendungsprogrammierschnittstelle wird sie z.B. von Microsoft Windows angewendet, damit externe Firmen ihre Software für das Betriebssystem entwickeln und implementieren können.

Big Data

Mit Big Data werden große Mengen an Daten bezeichnet, die aufgrund ihrer Größe und Komplexität oder durch ihre schnelle Veränderung nicht mehr mit den klassischen Datenverarbeitungsmethoden ausgewertet werden können. Stattdessen werden sie mit speziellen Lösungen gespeichert, verarbeitet und ausgewertet mit dem Ziel, verschiedenste Daten miteinander zu vernetzen und daraus neue Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen

Bitcoin

Bitcoin ist eine digitale Geldeinheit, der ein eigenständiges, dezentrales Zahlungssystem zugrunde liegt. Mithilfe einer Bitcoin Core-Software können Teilnehmer in einem P2P-Netzwerk Transaktionen mit Bitcoins durchführen. Da Bitcoin eine reine "Online-Währung" darstellt, kann mit ihr länderübergreifend über Waren verhandelt oder Dienstleistungen bezahlt werden. Dabei gibt es kein zentrales Finanzinstitut, das Bitcoins erzeugt und am Zahlungsverkehr mitwirkt. Die Transaktionen mit Bitcoins werden lediglich über eine Datenbank, der Blockchain, verwaltet. Der Wert von Bitcoins wird dabei über Angebot und Nachfrage ermittelt.

Blockchain

Blockchain ist eine dezentrale Datenbank, die die Transaktionen mit der digitalen Geldeinheit Bitcoin verwaltet. Dabei werden eine oder mehrere Transaktionen in Datenblöcke zusammengefasst und über Prüfsummen kontrolliert. Die verbundenen Datenblöcke bilden die Blockkette. Über die Bitcoin Core-Software wird jedem Mitglied der Community die Datenbank heruntergeladen und regelmäßig aktualisiert.

CFT / CTF

Combating the Financing of Terrorism (CFT) oder Counter-Terrorist Financing (CTF) meint Richtlinien und Gesetze, die eingeführt wurden, um den illegalen Erwerb von Vermögen vorzubeugen, zu verfolgen und aufzudecken. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf Verbrechen globaler Terroristen und der Geldwäsche. Ein Begriff ist hierbei Anti Money Laundering (AML) – eine Zusammenstellung von Prozessen, Gesetzen und Regelungen, um Geldwäscherei zu bekämpfen.

Cloud Computing

Beim Cloud Computing werden IT-Infrastrukturen, Plattformen und Software als Dienstleistung über ein Netzwerk (z.B. dem Internet) angeboten. Dabei ist das eigentliche System in einem entfernten Rechenzentrum gespeichert, kann aber von lokalen Arbeitsplatzcomputern genutzt werden. Ein Teil dieser Technologie ist die Software as a Service (SaaS), bei der Kunden die vom Rechenzentrum angebotene Software für eigene Zwecke verwenden. Fintechs nutzen dies im Bereich des elektronischen Zahlungsverkehrs, da hierbei laufend neue Sicherheitsstandards festgelegt werden, sodass sich der Kauf einer Software meist nicht lohnt. AuchDisaster Recovery as a Service (DRaaS) ist über Cloud Computing möglich.

Collaborative Finance

Collaborative Finance ist aus dem Prinzip der Collaborative Consumption bzw. der Sharing Economy entstanden. Die wachsende Vernetzung und Entwicklung der Kommunikation durch das Internet macht es Privatpersonen, wie auch Organisationen und Institutionen möglich, Produkte und Dienstleistungen zu teilen, zu tauschen, zu vermieten und mit ihnen zu handeln. Durch das Teilen von Informationen können passgenaue, persönliche Finanzlösungen geformt werden. Charakteristisch für Collaborative Finance sind die im hohen Maß personalisierten Kreditgeschäfte (z.B. Mikrokredite) und P2P-Geschäfte.

Crowdfunding

Crowdfunding ist eine neue Art der Finanzierung, bei der im Internet über Social Networks, Plattformen, Blogs, etc. viele kleinere Geldbeträge von Internetnutzern gesammelt werden, um Projekte zu finanzieren. Dazu wird das benötigte Kapital für ein Projekt festgelegt und zum Crowdfunding hochgeladen. Über eine bestimmte Zeitspanne wird daraufhin Kapital für das Projekt gesammelt, um es danach umzusetzen, wenn das angegebene Kapitalziel erreicht worden ist.

Digital Native

Ein Digital Native ist eine Person, die in der digitalen Welt aufgewachsen ist. Anders als der Digital Immigrant hat er die digitale Welt schon von Kindesalter an kennengelernt.

Disaster Recovery Site

Eine Disaster Recovery Site (DR Site) wird von Unternehmen und Organisationen genutzt, die im großen Maß von ihren digitalen Daten und ihrer IT-Infrastruktur abhängig sind. Wenn das interne System zusammenbricht oder temporär unbrauchbar wird, kann die DR Site als Ersatz genutzt werden. Dadurch kann die Geschäftstätigkeit weiter ausgeführt werden und es entstehen keine gravierenden Verluste. Da die Anlegung und Haltung eines solchen Systems relativ kostspielig ist, gibt es bereits auch eine entsprechende Dienstleistung, die sogenannte Disaster Recovery as a Service (DRaaS).

eIDV

Electronic Identity Verification (eIDV) ist ein anderer Begriff für Identitätsprüfung. Über ein Internet-basierendes System kann z.B. die Identität von Geschäftspartnern mit wenig Aufwand verifiziert werden.

EMV

EMV steht für die drei Gesellschaften Europay International, MasterCard und VISA. Diese haben den Standard entwickelt, dass Kredit- und Debitkarten für die Abwicklung von Transaktionen mit einem Mikrochip anstelle des vorher üblichen Magnetstreifens ausgestattet werden. Vorteile dieser Neuerung sind die höhere Sicherheit durch Datenverschlüsselung und die Möglichkeit der Nutzung weiterer Zusatzfunktionen. Der EMV-Standard bewirkt, dass Zahlungskarten länderübergreifend genutzt werden können.

IPv6 / IPng

Das Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6), auch Internet Protocol next generation (IPng) genannt, ist ein von der Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) seit 1998 standardisiertes Verfahren zur Übertragung von Daten, insbesondere im Internet.

Kryptowährung

Unter Kryptowährungen versteht man digitale Zahlungsmittel, mit denen weltweit über das Internet gehandelt und gezahlt werden kann. Bei diesen Formen von digitalem Geld werden Methoden der Kryptographie angewendet, um die Daten hinter der Währung zu verschlüsseln und so die Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit zu garantieren. Ein Beispiel einer solchen Währung ist Bitcoin.

MasterCard

Amerikanisches, multinationales Finanzdienstleistungsunternehmen mit ihrem Hauptsitz in dem MasterCard International Global Headquarters in Purchase, New York, Westchester County, United States.

NFC

NFC ist die Abkürzung für Near Field Communication. Diese Technologie ermöglicht den Austausch von Daten über eine kurze Strecke zwischen einem NFC-Chip und einem entsprechenden Lesegerät. Genutzt wird es insbesondere für Micropayment und Mobile Payment mithilfe von Kreditkarten und Smartphones.

Open Source Software

Open Source Software (OSS) ist eine frei verfügbare Software. Sie kann parallel von mehreren Nutzern verwendet werden und ist nicht an ein Endgerät gebunden.

Payment Gateway

Payment Gateway (übersetzt Zahlungsportal) ermöglicht die Online-Bezahlung von Waren und Dienstleistungen mit einer Kreditkarte. Dabei stellt es die Schnittstelle zwischen einem PoS-System eines Händlers, dem Aussteller der Zahlung und seiner Bank dar.

Robo Advisor

Robo Advisors sind Fintech-Unternehmen, die Online-Vermögensverwaltungsdienstleistungen anbieten. Grundsätzlich sind sie durch einen hohen Grad an Automatisierung und Standardisierung bezüglich der Beratung kostengünstiger als herkömmliche Finanzberater. Allerdings sind sie in der Individualisierung ihrer Beratungsleistung eingeschränkt, da sie auf eine unterstützende Beratung und Interaktion mit dem Kunden durch einen persönlichen Berater verzichten. Allein durch Computerprogramme und die eingegebenen Daten des Kunden wird eine konkrete Anlagestrategie entwickelt und dem Kunden präsentiert.

Screen Scraping

Screen Scraping stellt ein Verfahren da, Daten aus Texten von einem Computerbildschirm zu extrahieren und auszuwerten, damit sie auf einem anderen Endgerät angezeigt werden können. Manche Fintechs, die Banking-Apps anbieten, nutzen dieses Verfahren, um Kontodaten von App-Nutzern auf verschiedenen Endgeräten anzeigen zu können.

Social Trading

Als Social Trading wird der Austausch von Wissen, Meinungen und Erfahrungen über Wertpapiere, individuelle Anlageentscheidungen und damit verbundene Kauf-/ Verkaufsstrategien auf spezialisierten Plattformen und sozialen Netzwerken bezeichnet. Mitgliedern dieser Community wird dadurch ermöglich, auf dieser Basis zielgenaue Entscheidungen und Einschätzungen zu treffen oder sogar komplette Strategien auf das eigene Vermögen zu übertragen.

Tokenization

Tokenization wird im Datenschutz angewendet. Hierbei werden vertrauliche Datenelemente durch einen sogenannten Token ersetzt und können dadurch sicher transferiert werden. Der Token hat keine äußerliche oder verwertbare Bedeutung oder Wert. Es ist allerdings möglich durch das Tokenization System den Token in die ursprünglichen Daten wieder zu übersetzen.

Visa

Visa U.S.A. ist eines der weltweit führenden Zahlungsdienstleister, gestützt durch ein sicheres Zahlungsnetzwerk. Visa verbindet mehr als 13.300 Finanzinstitute, 6,9 Millionen Handelsakzeptanzorte und 520 Millionen Karten.